I Cheat to Win

No, I cheat to finish this freaking book. I know that Camp Nano is only a few days away but listen: if I have time to edit, I’m going to edit. Graphs be damned.

Wait, no, I didn’t mean it. Graphs, I love you. But my free time is fleeting and I can’t wait for the lure of a good progress graph to get things going. I edited 17 pages of my WIP on Friday and I intend to do more today. If that means I have to change my Camp goal again, BY GOD, I WILL.

Because “winning” is finishing this piece in general. Winning first place is finishing it before new baby is born and both my free time and my sanity go on an extended vacation.

Writer friends, are there non-Nano, non-contest, any-time-of-the-year stat counters I can use to motivate myself with graphs? I am not looking to reinvent the wheel or DIY here and I sure as sugar ain’t payin’ a third party just so I can watch a bar graph go up. But if there’s some free online motivation tool (with pretty pretty graphs) already available, please point me in that direction?

mister_t_graph

3 thoughts on “I Cheat to Win

Leave a Reply

