Epub Me, Web Thing

All right, writer friends, give me your knowledge! Give me your opinions! Break me off a piece of your Kit Kat bar!

I’m looking into Draft2Digital and wondering what experiences ya’ll have had with it. I uploaded a super short story–for free–and so far:

  1. Their formatting is terrible. They said they’d format for me. Does that mean taking out paragraph breaks and line spacing to make it difficult to read? Because that’s what they did.
  2. They provided me with a universal link to my book which goes to a Page Not Found on a site that is not Draft2Digital and I was all, “Huh, what? Back button, back button, where’d my stuff go?!”
  3. The status is still “Publishing” so it’s not really a surprise that links aren’t working but I can’t… find the thing where it says how long… because KDP tells you and this… doesn’t? Do I have to search the help section for information that should be presented up front?
  4. I’m feeling like an old person confronted with brand new technology who just wants to shout at clouds and take a nap. This is what I get for trying something new in a hurry while my kid naps on a blistering hot day that swells my feet and clouds my brain.
  5. SHUT UP, CLOUDS! NOBODY ASKED FOR YOUR OPINION ANYWAY! ZZZZZzzzzzZZZZZzzzzzz.

6b9

One thought on “Epub Me, Web Thing

  1. I didn’t have much trouble at all with D2D. Though I made my ePub myself. I’ve done it mostly with Scrivener but also with Calibre when I needed too. I don’t know that I trust someone else to make it for me entirely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

