Them Girls Fight Back

mtv_sv_jumbotron_2Anyone else watching this? Thoughts? Because I’m sorta LOVING it.

I am not a proponent of vigilantism in the real world but fictitiously, I feel like it gives its audience something most of us can’t get in real life. That sense of exhilaration and adrenaline you get watching horror or kung fu movies gains a higher sense of purpose, especially for the feminists among us, when you see these college gals kicking some rapist ass. Because let’s be honest, no matter how many self defense classes most of us take, we’re not going ham on some douche after breaking into his dorm room. There are consequences in the real world. There are alarm systems and witnesses and police investigations and criminal trials and, you know, jail.

But watching it happen on TV, maaaan, that’s some good stuff right there. Makes me want to… go punch a punching bag. Because that’s as real as it gets for some of us. And I’m ok with that.

 

Leave a comment