Real Talk: I don’t have TIME for this

Listen, I was all for this blog-hopping thing when it came about because I figured it would be a handful of people I could, you know, like network with. I follow you, you follow me, cool enough.

But 400 people? I have to scroll through all these lists, clicking on each link, liking, backing up, scrolling down, clicking on the next link, liking.

I want to do it. If I could click a couple of buttons and follow all those writer people, support them by upping their follower numbers and whatnot, I would absolutely do it.

But I get 60-90 minutes a day when I’m not 1) working, 2) caring for the child, or 3) sleeping and I just spent an hour–AN HOUR–clicking and liking and I’m not even 1/4 of the way through ONE list.

I’ll try again, I swear. But I just gave up my entire writing time today for a bunch of people who, let’s be honest, aren’t planning on doing me any favors.

Because yeah… my son’s waking up now. I mean… this is not the best use of my time. There has got to be a better way.

8 thoughts on “Real Talk: I don’t have TIME for this

  1. I’m with you. I started with the blog posts first then I’ll switch to Twitter and Facebook. Subscribing to blogs eats up time. Finding the subscription box, filling it in, doing the captcha, then going back to my email and confirming the subscription, then deleting the confirmations of the confirmations.
    I think everyone is starting with Twitter as it’s first on Raimey’s list. I have 100 more followers since the beginning of the week to show for #nanohop.
    I know I’ll stick with some of the people on the list, but some I have absolutely nothing in common. But, a few more followers could mean more sales. I’m all for that!
    Good luck on your time management. Set your priorities for what works for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Did you sign up for it? She sent out emails with instructions. I’d give you the link but the instructions have changed a couple times and I don’t know what the rules are anymore.

      Like

      • I didn’t know about it until you posted. I’m participating. Raimey has been retweeting my posts, so people know I’m following. It’s been good. The blog following is the worst. I’m skipping it for now. I don’t want to get all those emails.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel you on this. I’m trying my best, too, but I’m only in the E’s on blog follows! One positive, though, is I’ve gotten to read some interesting content. The negative to this is the fact that reading content has only added to the time it takes to follow folks. Plus, what do you do if you just don’t want to follow some people? Yet another thing to consider if you spend time reading…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve chosen to only follow WordPress blogs because it’s more likely that I’ll actually read them. I expect some unfollows and that’s ok. There’s only so many people I can commit to at once, you know?

      Like

  3. I’m doing a Nanohop shoutout. I just look at some links on the master list and I ask questions to a few people each post. (I’m not sure how often I’ll make this a thing yet)

    I will follow a blog if I decide to feature it. Otherwise, feh. PITA.

    Like

Leave a Reply

