NaNo Got Me Working HARD

I’ll tell you what I should be doing: I should be writing 700ish more words to get over 30,000 of my NaNo WIP. I’ll tell you what I AM doing: eating my son’s goldfish and taking a damn break.

I’ve come to the point where I need to decide what the hell this story is about, what the climax will involve, and how I can possibly end it. I think 50,000 words is a good goal but that being the goal, I keep thinking I have to end the story near that amount instead of continuing on to the logical conclusion.

“Oh, only 20,000 words left? Well, let’s build up quick to the let down so we can get this nonsense over with, eh?”

No, that’s not how it’s supposed to work! But that’s the game and I’ve committed to the game and once 50,000 are written and November ends, I can play my own game. I can add on or take off or edit the bajesus out of it and make something new.

As excited as I am to finish this challenge and find out how this story ends, I really liked the WIP I finished last month (the coming of age story) and would love to start editing that. Also, I’d like to take off some of the pressure of having to write EVERY day. It’s nice to take breaks once in a while and bingewatch some TV instead.

But we’re almost there. So don’t give up! Just keep swimming, Mr Grumpy Gills.

anigif_enhanced-20189-1399242686-4

Leave a Reply

