Heavy Distraction of the McConaughey Persuasion

Today, on the first day of NaNoWriMo, I had a consultation with an oral surgeon who could realistically be played by Matthew McConaughey in the movie adaptation of my life.

f596ff4637164c6af0a3e457f33f962c“Hey, hey, hey there cowgirl. What you got there are some impacted wisdom teeth. Yeahhh. But don’t you worry because they ain’t all that bad. You could hold off on surgery if you like. I would if it were my mouth. And I ain’t retirin’ anytime soon so you do you, girl. Come back and see me when you’re good to go, alright alright?”

So that was half an hour wasted.

Also, the oil man came to fix “that rattling noise” my husband keeps hearing which took several hours, zero of which my son would nap so I got no writing done then either.

Sometime between oil man and McConaughey dentist, before my in-laws arrived to babysit my son but after my husband came home and decided to give me a play-by-play of his entire morning at work, I managed to write about 900 words.

It’s not great for a first day, but it’s not nothin’. Also, as of yesterday, I had no idea what I was going to write. Today, I have a vague concept and a main character. Progress looks different to different people.

 

 

Leave a Reply

