Spider Dreams and Grocery Nightmares

I had a dream last night that my husband and I paid for our groceries–6 jars of peanut butter, a jar of mayonnaise, and a banana–in cash and received “Shaws Bucks” in return.

“Excuse me,” I said to the cashier as she began ringing up the next person in line. “What is this? This isn’t cash.”

“No, ma’am,” she rolled her eyes. “That’s Shaws Bucks. You can use them like cash.”

“Yeah, but here, right? What if I want to use them somewhere else?”

“Um… no, ma’am,” she said in conspicuous teenage disgust, “they can only be used here. At Shaws. Because they are Shaws. Bucks.”

“No, no, no. I do not want Shaws Bucks. I want cashy money. I gave you cash, you give me my change in cash. Go get your manager.”

She sighed and rolled her damn eyes again and then TOOK MY CART over to the manager. The manager then explained to me that they are no longer giving cash back but I could use my Shaws Bucks like cash at any Shaws. When I explained that I wanted CASH that could be used like cash at any establishment that accepted cash, she said, “OK, but I’ll have to take your groceries back in return.”

What?! WHAT?!?

Then the dream changed and there was a spider and every time I got close to it, it would get bigger. Yuck.

So if dreams are a subconscious way for our brains to deal with issues, Shaws Bucks are clearly my response to the discount furniture store that I recently purchased a mattress from only to have delivered… a Furniture Repair Kit.

Thanks, discount furniture store. Not only is my new “mattress” too small and very uncomfortable, but now I can’t even get my damn change or peanut butter from the grocery store. And exactly how big is that spider going to get, hmm?

It was a rough night.

640x960

Leave a Reply

