Vacation From Your Problems

Whenever I finish a piece I’ve been working on for a while, I go on a little mental vacation. I don’t do it on purpose. It’s actually a little frustrating. But I took this seminar once where the speaker told us that whenever you can, you should let your brain do what it wants. If it wants to sleep and you can take a break from your activity to nap, do it. If it wants to wander and you have nothing pressing that needs your attention, let it.

My brain wants to stop living other people’s lives for a little while. And my own life is so lovely right now, I’m just gonna go ahead and concentrate on that.

I give it about 3 more days before it starts making up stories again.

sailing

Leave a Reply

