Another Writer Blog

Being part of a community is a blessing. Being defined by it, not so much.

There are far too many writers (on Twitter) who think they need to be a certain thing and act (or act like they act) a certain way in order to fulfill their ideal of what a writer is: nocturnal, obsessive, tortured, anti-social.

I don’t like it, I tell you. I don’t want to. I just want to write words and have other people read them and otherwise live my life the way I do.

SARK, quoting a child I think, said it best: “Just be who you are.”

Then again, maybe those particular people don’t like who they are and that’s why they write? To give themselves purpose? Because they haven’t found another definition that works for them?

I write because I like to. I want that to be enough.

Leave a Reply

